The district: Arizona’s 2nd congressional district is in the southeast corner of Arizona and contains part of Tucson. Republican Congresswoman Martha McSally is vacating the seat to run for U.S. Senate, leaving an open seat contest. This is a swing district and was previously held by a Democrat before Rep. McSally won here in 2014 by just 161 votes.

Our Candidate: Ann Kirkpatrick is a former federal prosecutor and she served in the Arizona House of Representatives from 2004-2008. From 2009-2011 and again from 2013-2017, she was the congresswoman for Arizona’s 1st congressional district (AZ-01). In her current bid to represent AZ-02, she is part of the DCCC’s Red to Blue program. Congresswoman Kirkpatrick successfully emerged from a seven-way contested primary with 41% of the vote, and she will face Republican nominee Lea Marquez Peterson in the November general election.



The district: Arizona’s 9th congressional district (AZ-09) is based in Phoenix and was created as a result of the 2010 Census. Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema has represented the district since its creation, but she is vacating the seat to seek election to the open U.S. Senate seat from Arizona left by Sen. Jeff Flake’s retirement.

Our Candidate: Greg Stanton is the former mayor of Phoenix, AZ, having just resigned his post in May to focus on the congressional race. Prior to his tenure as Mayor, Stanton served nine years on the Phoenix City Council and as Arizona’s Deputy Attorney General.


Only J Street members can view this page.

Please enter your email so we can confirm you are a J Street member.

Not yet a member?

Become a J Street member!

Joining is free. Members are eligible to vote in certain board elections and can donate to political candidates through JStreetPAC.

*By providing your phone number, you consent to receive SMS messages from J Street.