Congress of the United States

Washington, **DC** 20515

December 12, 2024

The Honorable Antony Blinken Secretary of State U.S. Department of State 2201 C Street NW Washington, DC 20520 The Honorable Lloyd Austin Secretary of Defense U.S. Department of Defense 1000 Defense Pentagon Washington, D.C. 20301

Dear Secretaries Blinken and Austin:

We strongly support Israel's right to self-defense and condemn the brutal terrorist attack by Hamas on October 7, in which Hamas killed over 1,200 people and took 235 people hostage. We continue to call on Hamas to release all hostages and support the Biden Administration's efforts to broker a bilateral ceasefire that includes the release of hostages. We also support U.S. efforts to reach a security agreement between Israel and Lebanon to end the fighting, allow citizens on both sides of the border to return home, and lower regional tensions. Further, we condemn the unprecedented Iranian attacks against Israel launched on April 13, 2024, and October 1, 2024. We must continue to avoid a major regional conflict – and we welcome the concerted diplomatic efforts by the U.S. and our allies to prevent further escalation.

We are also deeply troubled by the continued level of civilian casualties and humanitarian suffering in Gaza. We welcomed the October 13th <u>letter</u> you sent to the Israeli government, imposing a 30-day deadline to "reverse the downward humanitarian trajectory" in Gaza and fulfill requirements consistent with Israel's March 2024 assurances that its actions are compliant with U.S. and international law, including facilitating humanitarian assistance. That deadline has expired, and while some progress has been made, we believe the Israeli government has <u>not yet fulfilled</u> the <u>requirements</u> outlined in your letter.

Therefore we request that your Administration provide a full assessment of the status of Israel's compliance with all relevant U.S. policies and laws, including National Security Memorandum 20 (NSM-20) and Section 620I of the Foreign Assistance Act.

This request is consistent with one made by many of us in a May <u>letter</u> to the Administration in which we raised similar concerns regarding the humanitarian crisis in Gaza and urged enforcement of NSM-20.

Our concerns remain urgent and largely unresolved, including arbitrary restrictions on humanitarian aid and insufficient delivery routes, among others. As a result, Gaza's civilian population is facing dire famine. As documented in the State Department's May 10th NSM-20 report, although overall access to humanitarian aid has improved, it remains <u>insufficient</u> and there are credible reports of potential breaches of U.S. law. Further, on October 28th, State Department Spokesperson Matthew Miller said, that "At this point, they're not meeting all the conditions of the letter" with reference to Israel.

We believe further administrative action must be taken to ensure Israel upholds the assurances it provided in March 2024 to facilitate, and not directly or indirectly obstruct, U.S. humanitarian assistance. We remain committed to a negotiated solution that can bring an end to the fighting, free the remaining hostages, surge humanitarian aid, and lay the groundwork to rebuild Gaza with a legitimate Palestinian governing body. We thank you and the Administration for its ongoing work to achieve those shared goals.

Sincerely,

Jason Crow

Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Mussy Houldon

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Seth Magaziner
Member of Congress

Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs

Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Val Hoyle

Member of Congress

Betty McCollum Member of Congress Barbara Lee

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mark Pocan
Member of Congress

Maxwell Alejandro Fros Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Chell R

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Maxine Waters
Member of Congress

Mafine Waters

Ro Khanna Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Nikema Williams
Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Becca Balint Member of Congress Eric Swalwell
Member of Congress

Inc Swedenell

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

John Garamendi Member of Congress

Trament.

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Boline Water Colema

Mike Quigley

Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D.

Member of Congress

onathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Bill Foster
Member of Congress

Bill Foste

Sylvia R. Garcia
Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley
Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

110.Cll Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

N Tokude

Earl Blumenauer

Member of Congress

Dwight Evans

Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Dana Dallate

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Smil Parli

Teresa Leger Fernandez Member of Congress

Troy Carter

Member of Congress

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Rosa L. DeLauro Member of Congress

tosa Londono

Andrea Selines Andrea Salinas

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Serrold Nadler Member of Congress

enold Hadle

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Gabe Amo Member of Congress

Valerie P. Foushee Member of Congress Al Green

Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

phana Hayes

Seni Sewell

Terri A. Sewell

Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García

Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin

Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby Member of Congress