J Street Congratulates Newly-elected HFAC Chair Meeks, Approps Chair DeLauro

December 3, 2020

Following the House Democratic Caucus’ election of the new chairs of the Foreign Affairs Committee and Appropriations Committees, J Street’s president Jeremy Ben-Ami released the following statement:

“J Street congratulates Rep. Gregory Meeks on his election as the new chair of the House Foreign Affairs Committee. We’ve been proud to count Rep. Meeks as an endorsee of JStreetPAC since 2016, and we’re honored that he and his fellow HFAC chair candidates each took the time to discuss their views and priorities directly with J Street’s supporters during the course of their chairmanship bids. We look forward to continuing to work together with Chairman Meeks to help revitalize the State Department and American diplomacy, to return the United States to compliance with the JCPOA, to promote comprehensive Israeli-Palestinian peace and to oppose the dangers of creeping annexation in the West Bank.

“We congratulate Rep. Rosa DeLauro, also an endorsee of JStreetPAC, on her election as the new chair of the House Appropriations Committee. We look forward to continuing to work together with Chairwoman DeLauro to ensure that the full amount of pledged US aid to Israel is used in a manner that genuinely addresses Israel’s security needs, to reinstate vital US assistance to the Palestinian people, and to ensure robust funding for diplomacy and aid programs worldwide.

“J Street is thrilled that the incoming top lawmakers on House committees with foremost jurisdiction over the US-Israel relationship are strong allies of the pro-Israel, pro-peace movement. It’s a clear signal that a balanced, nuanced approach to US policy in the Middle East is now the mainstream consensus position in the chamber’s majority.

“We also commend JStreetPAC endorsees Rep. Joaquin Castro and Rep. Marcy Kaptur on their hard-fought campaigns for the roles of HFAC and Appropriations chairs respectively, and look forward to continuing to work with both of these members as leading voices on key issues of concern to the pro-Israel, pro-peace movement.”

Recent Statements