Prominent Public Figures Join Honorary Host Committee for J Street’s Tenth Anniversary Gala

April 5, 2018

CONTACT: Jessica Rosenblum, [email protected], 202.448.1600

WASHINGTON — As the pro-Israel, pro-peace advocacy group J Street celebrates its 10th anniversary with a Gala Dinner on April 16th, the event’s Honorary Host Committee includes 99 prominent public figures from the worlds of politics, national security, advocacy and Jewish life.

Among the dignitaries honoring the group are former Secretaries of State Madeleine Albright and John Kerry, former Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel, former National Security Advisor Susan Rice, and former Vice President Walter Mondale. The extensive list includes former Members of Congress like Senator Russ Feingold and Congressman Barney Frank; veteran Israeli security leaders like Ami Ayalon and Danny Yatom; liberal advocates like Ilyse Hogue and Stephanie Schriock; and Jewish community leaders like Rabbi Sharon Brous, Nancy Kaufman and Rabbi Eric Yoffie.  

The Honorary Host Committee includes former ambassadors, Members of Congress, cabinet secretaries, IDF Generals, governors, Pulitzer-prize winning authors, leading rabbis from the Conservative, Reconstructionist and Reform movements and one Nobel Prize Laureate.

J Street’s National Gala dinner will honor the group’s founder and president Jeremy Ben-Ami. The evening’s featured speakers include Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL) and former Special Envoy for Middle East Peace, Senator George Mitchell.

Founded in 2008, J Street has grown over a decade into a powerful voice for the liberal majority of American Jews and an influential force in US politics. In the lead up to Israel’s 70th anniversary celebrations later this spring, the group’s 10th anniversary conference will be a major rallying point for Americans and Israelis joining together in defense of democracy and the pursuit of a two-state peace agreement to secure Israel’s future.


J Street’s 2018 National Gala Honorary Host Committee

Michael Adler
Secretary Madeleine Albright
Stuart Appelbaum
Ambassador Colette Avital
Uri Avnery
Maj. General (res.) Ami Ayalon
Secretary James Baker
Yossi Beilin
Ken Bob
Marshall Breger
Eli Broad
Adam Bronfman
Rabbi Sharon Brous
Bill Burns
Congresswoman Lois Capps
Michael Chabon
Yael Dayan
Governor Howard Dean
Debra DeLee
Tom Dine
Rabbi Elliot Dorff
Rabbi Ellen Weinberg Dreyfus
Governor Michael & Kitty Dukakis
Brig. General (ret.) Uzi Eilam
Edith Everett
Michèle Flournoy
Congressman Barney Frank
Senator Russ Feingold
Congressman Sam Gejdenson
Congressman Dick Gephardt
Ambassador Carmi Gillon
Stanley Gold
David Grossman

Rabbi Steve Gutow
Secretary Chuck Hagel
William Harrop
Senator Gary Hart
Mark Hetfield
Ilyse Hogue
Irwin Jacobs
Rabbi Jill Jacobs
Dr. Colin Kahl
Daniel Kahneman
Secretary Mickey Kantor
Ambassador Samuel Kaplan
Nancy Kaufman
Senator Ted Kaufman
Secretary John Kerry
Rabbi Sharon Kleinbaum
Rabbi Peter Knobel
Rabbi Charles A. Kroloff
Ambassador Daniel Kurtzer
Tony Kushner
Congressman Mel Levine
Rabbi Brian Lurie
Josh Malina
Rob Malley
Avishai Margalit
Aaron David Miller
Maj. General (ret.) Amram Mitzna
Vice President Walter Mondale
Achinoam Nini (Noa)
Brig. General (ret.) Israela Oron
Amos Oz
Ophir Pines Paz
Ambassador Thomas Pickering

Richard Plepler
Ben Rhodes
Ambassador Susan Rice
Hannah Rosenthal
Rabbi John Rosove
Ambassador Nancy Rubin
Moshe Safdie
Rabbi David Saperstein
Ambassador Uri Savir
Ambassador Andrew Schapiro
Stephanie Schriock
Ambassador Gabriela Shalev
Alice Shalvi
Ambassador Daniel Shek
Congressman Jim Slattery
Joshua Sobol
Daniel Sokatch
Ambassador Alan D. Solomont
Rabbi David Stern
Jake Sullivan
Yuli Tamir
Neera Tanden
Congresswoman Ellen Tauscher
Maj. General (ret.) Noam Tibon
Rabbi Burton L. Visotzky
Ayelet Waldman
Michael Walzer
Rabbi Deborah Waxman
Rabbi Martin Weiner
Randi Weingarten
Maj. General (res.) Danny Yatom
A.B Yehoshua
Rabbi Eric Yoffie